MLA’S Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies Awarded to Alexander C. Y. Huang

New York, NY-1 December 2010-The Modern Language Association of
America today announced it is awarding its eighteenth annual Aldo and
Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies to Alexander
C. Y. Huang, of Pennsylvania State University, for Chinese
Shakespeares: Two Centuries of Cultural Exchange, published by
Columbia University Press. The prize is awarded annually for an
outstanding scholarly work that is written by a member of the
association and that involves at least two literatures.

The prize is one of seventeen awards that will be presented on 7
January 2011 during the association’s annual convention, to be held in
Los Angeles. The members of the selection committee were Nicholas
Brown (Univ. of Illinois, Chicago), chair; Carla Freccero (Univ. of
California, Santa Cruz); and Alessia Ricciardi (Northwestern Univ.).
The committee’s citation for Huang’s book reads:

Alexander C. Y. Huang’s Chinese Shakespeares: Two Centuries of
Cultural Exchange maps new territory for the most promising project in
comparative literature today. Huang’s object is the movement of
cultural forms across geographical space, but he regards such movement
not as mere diffusion or even as exchange. Instead he examines the way
movement across geographical and geopolitical fault lines reaches into
cultural forms and changes their meanings from the inside, often
revealing possibilities that had lain dormant, unnoticed, or submerged
in the texts’ cultures of origin. Remarkable not only for its
sophistication but also for its scholarly depth, Chinese Shakespeares
is a landmark in the renewal of comparative literature as a

Alexander C. Y. Huang is an associate professor of comparative
literature at Pennsylvania State University; a research affiliate in
literature at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; the general
editor of The Shakespearean International Yearbook; and the vice
president of the Association for Asian Performance. He coedited
Shakespeare in Hollywood, Asia, and Cyberspace and Class, Boundary,
and Social Discourse in the Renaissance; he is also the editor of
special issues for the Asian Theatre Journal and Borrowers and
Lenders: The Journal of Shakespeare and Appropriation. He is the
cofounder and coeditor of two open-access performance archives, Global
Shakespeares ( and Shakespeare
Performance in Asia ( Chinese
Shakespeares: Two Centuries of Cultural Exchange also received an
honorable mention for the Joe A. Callaway Prize for the Best Book on
Drama or Theatre.

The MLA, the largest and one of the oldest American learned societies
in the humanities (est. 1883), promotes the advancement of literary
and linguistic studies. The 30,000 members of the association come
from all fifty states and the District of Columbia, as well as from
Canada, Latin America, Europe, Asia, and Africa. PMLA, the
association’s flagship journal, has published distinguished scholarly
articles for over one hundred years. Approximately 9,500 members of
the MLA and its allied and affiliate organizations attend the
association’s annual convention. The MLA is a constituent of the
American Council of Learned Societies and the International Federation
for Modern Languages and Literatures.

The Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Comparative Literary Studies,
awarded under the auspices of the MLA’s Committee on Honors and
Awards, was presented for the first time in 1993. Recent winners have
been Leonard Barkan (1999), Marie-Laure Ryan (2000), Victoria Nelson
(2001), Ian Balfour (2002), Alessia Ricciardi (2003), Loren Kruger
(2004), Evelyne Ender (2005), Toril Moi (2006), Daniel Heller-Roazen
(2007), and Sahar Amer (2008). Honorable mentions were awarded to
Sharon Marcus (1999), Barbara Fuchs (2001), Avital Ronell (2001),
Charles Bernheimer (2002), Barbara Johnson (2003), Susanne Kord
(2003), Neil Kenny (2004), and Richard Helgerson (2007).

Other awards sponsored by the committee are the William Riley Parker
Prize; the James Russell Lowell Prize; the MLA Prize for a First Book;
the Howard R. Marraro Prize; the Kenneth W. Mildenberger Prize; the
Mina P. Shaughnessy Prize; the MLA Prize for Independent Scholars; the
Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize; the Morton N. Cohen Award; the MLA
Prizes for a Distinguished Scholarly Edition and for a Distinguished
Bibliography; the Lois Roth Award; the William Sanders Scarborough
Prize; the Fenia and Yaakov Leviant Memorial Prize in Yiddish Studies;
the MLA Prize in United States Latina and Latino and Chicana and
Chicano Literary and Cultural Studies; and the Aldo and Jeanne
Scaglione Prizes for French and Francophone Studies, for Italian
Studies, for Studies in Germanic Languages and Literatures, for
Studies in Slavic Languages and Literatures, for a Translation of a
Literary Work, for a Translation of a Scholarly Study of Literature,
and for a Manuscript in Italian Literary Studies.

The Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Endowment Fund was established and
donated by Aldo Scaglione to the MLA in 1987. The fund honors the
memory of his wife, Jeanne Daman Scaglione. A Roman Catholic, Jeanne
Daman taught in a Jewish kindergarten in Brussels, Belgium. When
deportation of Jews began in 1942, she helped find hiding places for
2,000 children. She also helped rescue many Jewish men by obtaining
false papers for them. Her life and contributions to humanity are
commemorated in the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in
Washington, DC.

Aldo Scaglione, a member of the MLA since 1957, is Erich Maria
Remarque Professor of Literature at New York University. A native of
Torino, Italy, he received a doctorate in modern letters from the
University of Torino. He has taught at the University of Toulouse and
the University of Chicago. From 1952 to 1968 he taught at the
University of California, Berkeley, and from 1968 to 1987 he was W. R.
Kenan Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature at the
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. In 1987 he came to New York
University as professor of Italian and later served as chair of the
Department of Italian. He has been a Fulbright fellow and a Guggenheim
fellow, has held senior fellowships from the Newberry Library and the
German Academic Exchange Service, and has been a visiting professor at
Yale University, the City University of New York, and the Humanities
Research Institute of the University of Wisconsin, Madison. In 1975 he
was named Cavaliere dell’ Ordine al Merito della Repubblica Italiana.
He has been president of the American Boccaccio Association and was a
member of the MLA Executive Council from 1981 to 1984. His published
books include Nature and Love in the Late Middle Ages (1963); Ars
Grammatica (1970); The Classical Theory of Composition (1972); The
Theory of German Word Order (1980); The Liberal Arts and the Jesuit
College System (1986); Knights at Court: Courtliness, Chivalry, and
Courtesy from Ottonian Germany to the Italian Renaissance (1991); and
Essays on the Arts of Discourse: Linguistics, Rhetoric, Poetics